Posted by: Marty Fahncke | January 4, 2012

How I organize my work day

I had a question posted today on my Facebook page that inspired me to write this post…

How I organize my work day

First of all, I generally end each day by looking over my agenda for the next day. That way I can leverage my subconscious as I sleep to solve problems or get a jump on any creative projects I need to tackle. So my “day” really begins the night before…

…then my actual day looks like this: dayplanner agenta and pen image

5:00 AM – 10-15 minutes of prayer, then I drink some juice and stretch for a bit

5:30 AM – Organize my day, including office, papers, mail, etc. (Computer and phones off!)

6:00 AM – Write my book. Computer on, but ONLY my word processor open (No other distractions allowed)

7:00 AM – Drive my middle son to school. Visit with him on the way there, on the phone the whole way back home

8:00 AM – Breakfast while checking email and social media updates

9:00 AM to Noon – Pre-scheduled phone calls. Nearly all of my coaching calls, client conference calls, etc. are in this time frame

Noon – Lunch with my youngest son. This is our special time together, and I rarely miss it if I’m not traveling (One of many great benefits of working from home)

1:00 PM – Conference calls or Midweek Momentum webinar if it’s a Wednesday

2:00 PM to 5 PM – Creative work, writing, returning phone calls, email, or whatever else needs to be done that day

5:00 PM and later is family time. I am a very dedicated father with two boys in Boy Scouts AND basketball.  I’m a Scout leader for 21 Deaf boys, and I do a lot of other volunteer work as well.  So my “after hours” time is usually as busy and requires as much planning and scheduling as my work day!

9:00 PM – Back in the office to finish up anything urgent that needs to be done before the day ends, check messages, plan the next day, and get ready to do it all over again.

This is my schedule as I try to keep it in an ideal situation. Keep in mind that I travel a lot for speaking engagements and other business.  Plus of course I have to be flexible to meet the needs of my clients and current projects.  So it doesn’t always work out just like this. Also, one HUGE thing that’s missing is exercise time. I’m still trying to figure out how to fit that in. 😦

I’d love to know… how do you organize YOUR day?  Please leave me your thoughts in the “Comments” section below…

Responses

  1. Marty,
    Thanks for the food for thought.
    I start my day at 5:30 am and do Bikram yoga and meditation. It is a way for me to get in exercise and meditation at the same time. It does however take longer. If I’m not doing yoga I rebound. Easy, can do at home, and anytime I need to take a mental break I jump on the rebounder. Even 5 minutes has huge health benefits. I usually do incantations while rebounding which is a type of meditation or prayer…

    I, on the other hand could use to commit more family time as part of my schedule and commit to stopping at a dedicated time. Perhaps your plan with coming back to it at the end of the day would work. I know my husband would be very appreciative.

    Thanks for the schedule.

    Oh, eating is a form of meditation and it is important to dedicate that time to just eating. It is so much better for your digestion if you focus on chewing and digesting and being thankful for the food to nourish your body/temple. This is spoken from your natural health doctor interested in your health and wellness!

    Cathy

    • Cathy, a note of thanks to my “natural health doctor”. I will try not to multi-task while I eat if you will try to stick to a dedicated stop time. Deal? 🙂

  2. Wow Marty. Thanks for sharing. Mine does have exercise in it, and it is sacred for me. (I never miss unless I am out of town).
    I begin my day rising at 7:15, and after a healthy breakfast, I am usually in my office at 7:45. I do check my emails and social media first.
    I often begin coaching at 8:00 or 9:00.
    I coach or work on projects all morning and then take 2 hours off around lunchtime to swim MWF or lift weights/treadmill. Then back to the office for the afternoon of coaching or projects.
    That often spills into the evening with a break for dinner.
    My challenge for the new year is to work less hours that spill into my evenings and weekends.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Lisa

    • Glad you liked the post Lisa, I appreciate you commenting!

  3. What a great post! It’s good to hear what other peoples schedules are and how they do it. When the kids are in school my schedule is like this:

    6:00 Wake – my goal is to exercise each morning, (my new years resolution),
    7:00 Make lunches and get 2 kids up and off to school
    8:45 Check e-mails for any new orders for advertising, put up any orders, check social media, send any work for my assistant to do.
    11:00 Make a smoothie and/or salad
    12;00 Slim down my emails and work on laundry, pickup the house, etc.
    3:45 to 9 is for my kids and computer is off.
    9pm is a little more clean up time and going over my agenda for the next day.
    Bedtime by 9:30 or 10.

    Kristina

    • Well Kristina, it looks like we have pretty similar schedules…except you have your exercise time planned out, so I think that puts you ahead of me! Thanks so much for stopping by and joining the discussion. 🙂

  4. Love reading about other people’s days. Here is a typical day for me:
    6:30 am – alarm goes off. turn it off, roll over and ignore – morning comes too early for my liking
    7:00 am – Bob comes in and turns on a small tableside light to remind me that I do, in fact, have to get up.
    7:00 – 7:10 a.m. – contemplation, meditation, prayer – I run my day in my head and set my intent for the day
    7:15 – finally hopping into the shower and getting ready for work
    8:15 – arrive at work 15 minutes late, but with a smile on my face and ready for the day
    work until 4:30 at the cemetery providing grief support for families we serve
    5:00 – midnight(ish) -at my computer checking emails, FB, etc. following up on leads and bookings for my speaking business – working on PR for my book as well as trying to find time to begin my next book. fit dinner in there at some point (I cook for the week on Sunday) spend some time with Bob (my honey) and then back to the computer. Weekends allow me more time at my desk so I can catch up on posts like this one (and the one I sent to Rosie O’Donnell as well!) Last thing I do each night: re-write my list of things to do so I am ready to hit the ground running the next day.

    Working 45 hours at my job as well as running my own business is pretty hectic, but I love everything that I do, so I don’t mind the hours.

    • Thanks for contributing your thoughts Nancy. You are a VERY busy woman…and I don’t believe I’ve ever been included in the same round of correspondence as Rosie O’Donnell!

  5. Just noticed that my post says it was written at 10:53 p.m. Wish it was- it is actually 11:53 here and I still have to pay bills and make my list for tomorrow – actually by the time I am finished it will BE tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

