Posted by: Marty Fahncke | March 25, 2011

LinkedIn hits 100,000,000 users. Yep, saw it right off

Way back in 2004, I received an invitation from a respected business associate named Paul Allen.  It was an invitation to connect on a new business social networking site called “LinkedIn”.  Keep in mind that at that time, social networking consisted of one key player…MySpace.  Remember them?  Back then, Social media/MySpace was the exclusive domain of annoying tweenagers and wanna be rock stars.  It was certainly not for respected business people. I wasn’t sure what LinkedIn was all about, or what it might lead to, but being a guy who liked to explore the cutting edge of marketing, I joined in ready to find out.

Since that time 999,945,988 others have joined.  Yes, LinkedIn hit 100 million users this week!

I received a letter today from Reid Hoffman, founder of LinkedIn, thanking me for being one of the first 100,000 users…in fact, I just learned I was user #57,011!

Reid Hoffman - Marty Fahncke first 100,000 LinkedIn Users(Click to embiggen)

I can honestly say that LinkedIn has made a huge and profound impact on my business. It was and continues to be a very useful tool, and I’m glad it’s around.   I had no idea in 2004 that I would eventually become a “social media expert”, traveling around the country teaching and training others how to use social media in their business.  But I’m sure having a good time doing it!

So thank you LinkedIn, thank you Paul Allen, and thank you to all of my 959 connections who have made my business more fun, more profitable, and more connected than ever.

On my next Midweek Momentum webinar, I’m going to share some of the things I’ve learned about how to use LinkedIn effectively.  Click here to join me.

PS – Are we connected on LinkedIn?  CLICK HERE to connect if the answer is no.

PPS – What is your LinkedIn story?  Please share in the comments below…

Responses

  1. Hey Neighbor!
    We met last August when you spoke at UIBC. I live right around the corner from you and have been meaning to hook up with you. Have you heard of Casa Somerset in Paola? It is an Italian Villa in this little hidden wine country. They serve a dinner for whoever wants to partake. I’m going with friends this friday April 1 and wanted to know if you would like to partake in the festivities. I know you are busy and travel a lot but I just thought I’d check and see if you were in town. One of my sites I set up at UIBC is http://www.thekellygallery.com. You can check out my back yard. Thank for the tips on linkedIn. I’ve been interested in learning more about this. Also still trying to figure out twitter. Didnt get to hear you nearly long enough!
    Hope your family is well and hope to see you soon!
    Kelly Daniels

  2. Marty, I have been using Linkedin for years, and it is an untapped resource that often gets omitted from conversation in the social media world. Conversations in groups is a fabulous place to connect with those in one’s niche.
    Glad you are also a fan of Linkedin!
    Cheers, Lisa

  3. Saw it right off!


Leave a Reply

Categories

