Posted by: Marty Fahncke | February 2, 2011

Get a quick and easy online profile with About.me

If you don’t have a website for yourself other than your Facebook profile, (or maybe you don’t even have that? Hello Mom!) there is a new way to build a quick, simple, and relatively nice online presence for yourself using About.me.  Oh, and it’s free. 🙂

Plus, if you really don’t have any other web presence, you can have a nifty little URL that leads to your profile, which you can put on business cards or in your email signature.  My About.me URL is http://about.me/martyfahncke

About.me is very simple to use:
#1  Click HERE to create an account, be sure to use the name you want to be found under for the “About.me URL”
#2  Add a bio
#3  Add a background picture
#4  Click “Service” to add links to your Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn social media profiles, your blog and any other websites you want people to know about
#5  “Poof” you are done!

I built this one in about 3 minutes…

About.me for Marty Fahncke

Screen shot of my About.me profile

Even if you already have a strong personal brand on the internet, adding an About.me profile online will give you some additional backlinks that we all know Google loves!

So go ahead, build yourself an About.me profile.  When you are finished, please post the link for your new About.me website­ in the comments below so everyone can check it out!

 

(Special thanks to Janet Slack for today’s tip)

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Marty M. Fahncke, Janet Slack. Janet Slack said: Thanks @FawnKey for linking to me in your blog post! http://bit.ly/eCq6bd […]

  2. http://about.me/timdinneen


Leave a Reply

Categories

