Posted by: Marty Fahncke | September 24, 2010

Advertising on Facebook. I told you so…

Yeah, yeah.  I know saying “I told you so” is immature.   I guess I’m just in touch with my inner child today!  Plus?  I was TOTALLY right on this one… 🙂

Back in January 2010, I posted on this blog a piece called “Advertising on Facebook – Insider tips” (Click to view in new window)

In that post, I made the following statement:

“2010 is the last year to take advantage of inefficiencies and lack of competition for advertising space on Facebook. Facebook today is as ripe for opportunity as Google was 6 or 7 years ago. In another year, more big brands (with big budgets) will move in, and it will be one hundred times more competitive, thus one hundred times more difficult to develop profitable advertising campaigns. “

If you read my entire post, it’s essentially a playbook for WHY and HOW you should be advertising on Facebook, no matter how big your business.  (What’s that?  You didn’t read it?  Click here to go read it now.  It’s ok…I’ll wait here for you. )

animated .gif countdown timer
…Welcome back

Today, I read an article on Bloomberg Businessweek called “Facebook Sells Your Friends – How Facebook plans to leverage its 550 million users into the greatest advertising juggernaut since … O.K., only since Google. That’s still huge”

It’s a pretty long article, but every advertiser and marketer should read every word so they understand where things are going. (Click HERE to open the article in a new window)

If you really don’t want to read the entire thing, one quote from the article sums it up:

“A year ago, Facebook was an afterthought,” says Carol Kruse, vice-president, global interactive marketing, at Coca-Cola, which has more than 12 million Facebook fans. “As we go into 2011, it’s fully integrated into our marketing plans, with a reliance and a focus on it.”

I think the average entrepreneur still has time to leverage the game-changing marketing channel that is Facebook before things get really tough (and expensive).  But the window is closing fast.

Advertising on Facebook?  Yes, I told you so.  Back in January.  The question is…did you do anything about it?

I would love to hear your thoughts and comments below…

Responses

  1. Marty, I couldn’t agree more. I think this post illustrates the possibilities well. Reading it totally changed my perspective on the possibilities with FB.

    http://www.allfacebook.com/how-we-got-to-40310-facebook-fans-in-4-days-2010-06

    Hope things are going well.

    • Great article Bill! Thanks for adding to the conversation. (Now I”m going to make some tweaks to my FB ads based on this new info) 🙂

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Marty M. Fahncke, Online Ads and edsoehnel, Alltop Facebook. Alltop Facebook said: Advertising on Facebook. I told you so… http://bit.ly/9s0kaE […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

