Posted by: Marty Fahncke | December 18, 2009

Book review: “What the Dog Saw” – Malcolm Gladwell

Let me start by telling you that I am a huge Malcolm Gladwell fan.  I consider “Blink” and “The Tipping Point” to be required reading for any serious business person or marketer.

What the Dog Saw isn’t quite to that level.  But it’s still a great read.

What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell

Unlike his previous books, Gladwell didn’t write this one to explore a specific marketing trend or social behavior.  Instead, it’s a collection of his New Yorker magazine essays on a wide variety of topics, from homelessness to the CIA, and from Ketchup to The Art of Failure.

If you are in need of a boost to your creative juices, What the Dog Saw might be just the ticket.  When I read the point/counterpoint of Gladwells essays, coupled with the interesting assortment of topics that are outside the realm of the areas I normally ponder all day, I found myself being a bit more creative, a lot more objective, and saying “hmm” to myself after just about every chapter.

If you are held at gunpoint and can only read one Gladwell book in your life, this probably shouldn’t be the one you read.   (Blink would get that vote)

But if you’ve read all the others and you want to actually benefit from your reading in a number of ways, then grab What the Dog Saw and get to reading!

(FTC Disclosure: All links in this post connect to Amazon, where I’ve found the best prices on the various books mentioned.  Yes, I earn like 1% commission if you actually buy one.  Believe me, that’s not my motivation for writing a positive review!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

