Posted by: Marty Fahncke | June 30, 2009

Wise words from Horace Mann

I subscribe to a daily inspirational email service called “This Day’s Thought” which contains a few inspirational thoughts sent to my email each day.  It’s one of several things I read or listen to in order to keep myself motivated, and to keep me focused on what is really important. 

Today’s “Thought” was especially profound to me.  It’s only a couple of sentences, but each sentence on it’s own contains a valuable lesson… 

“It is my custom every night, as soon as the candle is out, to run over the words and actions of the past day; and I let nothing escape me, for why should I fear the sight of my errors when I can admonish and forgive myself?  I was a little too hot in such a dispute; my opinion might well have been withheld, for it gave offense and did no good.  The thing was true; but all truths are not to be spoken at all times.  I would I had held my tongue, for there is no contending, either with fools or with our superiors.  I have done ill, but it shall be so no more.  Habit is a cable; we weave a thread of it every day, and at last we can not break it.”
 
Horace Mann – The Father of American education
(Learn more about Horace Mann here)

In other words, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nuttin’ at all” – Thumper

A lesson I need to keep close to my heart.  How about you?

PS – You can subscribe to This Day’s Thought for yourself by clicking here

Leave a Reply

Categories

