Posted by: Marty Fahncke | March 1, 2009

Social networking rules by Napoleon Dynamite

Lots of people who know me are keenly aware that I’m into the whole “Social Networking” thing.  But they really don’t get what it’s all about, how to be involved, or what the “rules” are. 

There are a lot of unspoken rules, but today a guy named Seth Simonds posted some actual written ones.  “Gosh! Napoleon Dynamite’s Guide To Social Networking” contains 5 great rules to follow in your social networking life.  All of the rules are cleverly written based on hilarious quotes from the movie Napoleon Dynamite (One of my favorite movies of all time!)

Contained within this great post is one of the most brilliant ways to sum up networking I’ve ever seen:

A good friend comes to your house and tries to help you fix your toilet. A great networker knows a trustworthy plumber who will fix your toilet, then takes you out for a drink to celebrate the victory!

Well said.

CLICK HERE to read “Gosh! Napoleon Dynamite’s Guide To Social Networking”

Be sure to post a comment and let me know what you think about it. 

If you do, I’ll catch you a delicious bass.

Responses

  1. Hi Marty!

    I think I had just as much fun finding quotes as I did writing the post!

    I think a lot of people get caught up in discussions of whether/not online buddies are real “friends” when there’s really no point to a discussion. If we had concrete ways of defining friends, wouldn’t life be a mess?

    I like the crazy, flexible, constantly-changing dance of friendships that occur in analog, digital, and that ephemera called love.

    Best of luck in your networking adventures!

    Seth

  2. Marty–

    Thank you for pointing out this gem of a post — I’ll be ‘clicking it forward’ — learn and laugh is a great combination!

    Tara
    ArtLicensingInfo.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

