Posted by: Marty Fahncke | December 19, 2008

Social media numbers: Odd and interesting – Part 2

If you read my post yesterday, you know that I have between 500-600 connections on each of the three social networks on which I play and work; Twitter, LinkedIn, and Facebook.

I found it odd that I’m “stuck” at almost the exact same number on each network.   But that’s yesterday’s topic. 

Today’s topic…what I find interesting about these numbers:

I’ve been on LinkedIn since February of 2004, thanks to an invitation from Paul Allen
It took me 58 months to amass 506 connections.  An average of 8.72 connections per month

I’ve been on Facebook since August of 2007, thanks to an invitation from Shawn Collins
It took me 18 months to amass 631 connections.  An average of 35.05 connections per month

I’ve been on Twitter since April of 2008, thanks to myself for finally getting around to leading the social networking conversation rather than just following it. 
It has taken me 8 months to amass 624 followers.  An average of 78 connections per month.

What are my takeaways from this? 

  • Clearly, social media is growing at an exponential rate
  • People today are more willing to adopt social media than they were a few years ago
  • I’m getting better at leveraging the power of social media networks to grow my business, as well as business for my clients
  • Thanks to social media, the world is shrinking, yet my horizons are expanding…and I’m very excited about it!

Want to connect with me?
Connect on LinkedIn:  http://www.linkedin.com/in/martyfahncke
Follow me on Twitter:  http://twitter.com//fawnkey
Friend me on Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/people/Marty-M-Fahncke/668225559

 

**Special thanks to Kay Ballard for helping me quickly find a piece of data for this post which would have taken me forever without her help!

Leave a Reply

Categories

