Posted by: Marty Fahncke | August 22, 2008

The secret life of an entrepreneur

No one understands me. 

Correction, no one understands what I do. 

No, that’s not right either.  VERY FEW people understand what I do for a living. 

That’s because what I do is foreign to what so many people understand as “work”. 

  • I don’t sit in a cubicle. 
  • I don’t commute. 
  • I don’t have regular hours. 
  • I don’t have a boss
  • I hang out a lot on social networking sites. 
  • I can always make it to my kids’ school functions in the middle of the day.
  • I work from a spare bedroom in my house. 
  • Sometimes I work on an airplane
  • Sometimes I work at Panera Bread or Starbucks.
  • And sometimes I work pulled over on the side of the road driving from point “a” to point “b” while on vacation.

 

For people used to a 9-5, cubicle-dwelling job, It all sounds a bit fishy, doesn’t it?  Perhaps.

But I guarantee you I work as hard or harder than the average “Joe Paycheck”. 

One person who does understand what I do is Peter Shankman.  Among other things, Peter is the founder of Help A Reporter, which I’ve blogged about before

From a business standpoint, Peter is a lot like me.  Only with ADHD.  And a penchant for jumping out of airplanes.  And even though I’m always quite busy…he’s WAY busier than I am. 

Today, Peter posted to his blog a manifesto-like essay called “Why Don’t You Do Some Work?”

Click here to read (Will open in new window)

It’s a fantastic take on the life of a consultant/entrepreneur/speaker. 

So, for those many people who wonder what I do.  Or for those who think the life of a consultant is easy, check out Peter’s post.

Then let me know what you think.

Responses

  1. i know what you do is work…
    and i know i joke about you being in the cia…
    only because you are so dedicated to your job…

    congrats. on your success.


Leave a Reply

Categories

