Posted by: Marty Fahncke | August 8, 2008

2008 Olympics Opening Ceremony – WOW!

I just turned off the TV after sitting slack-jawed for hours watching the amazing Opening Ceremonies of the Beijing Olympics.

WOW!

I don’t agree with China’s politics, their human rights policies, or their persecution of Christians.  In fact, I don’t even think the Olympics should have been awarded to China in the first place. 

But I can say one thing…those Chinese really know how to throw a party!

If you missed the Opening Ceremonies, you MUST find a way to watch it.  Find a friend who saved it on their DVR, buy it on DVD if it comes out, watch it on Youtube as a last resort.

Just watch it.

I love to see and study excellence in any medium.  Athletics, business, design, art, technology, marketing, etc.  When I see something truly excellent, I like to savor it, study it, and be inspired by it.  

I don’t use the term “excellence” lightly either.  It’s a word that is thrown about by many people, and often applied <usually by marketers :-)> to things that aren’t really excellent. 

In this case, the Olympic Opening Ceremonies were the epitome of excellence. 

I talk a lot to my clients, in my speeches, and on my blog about “Under-promise and Over-Deliver”.  “Exceed Expectations”, “Think BHAG (Big Hairy Audacious Goals)”, and many more ways of saying THINK BIG!

This event did all that and more. 

$300 million dollars and a cast of 15,000 can buy quite a show. 

Not only did I see things I’ve never ever seen before, I saw things I could never even imagine!

Watching these Opening Ceremonies inspired me to think bigger, strive to be more creative, mix elegance with technology, and not be limited in my thinking. 

If you watched it, I’m curious to know what YOU thought?

UPDATE:  I’ve located an online source to see snippets of video.  Not the same thing as watching it all the way through on a big TV, but it will at least give you an idea what I’m talking about it you’ve missed it:

http://www.nbcolympics.com/video/player.html?assetid=0808_hd_ocb_hl_l1622

I also found where you can purchase the official DVD of the entire 2008 Beijing opening ceremonies:

http://www.nbcdvd.com/

Responses

  1. Yeah, I agree, the ceremony totally rocked. The performers were great, the blue earth ball were amazing. The dude with torch “air-walking” is something that I won’t forget for a while.

  2. I was totally awed. The costumes, the show, everything.

    I agree that China’s social politics are screwed up, and that they shouldn’t have had the Olympics in the first place.

  3. I was awed, too, but I have a little different view on it. Im not spamming or anything, just wondering if you guys might want to check it out. Here’s the link:

    http://culturedecoded.wordpress.com/2008/08/08/thoughts-on-the-opening-ceremony/

    pacer521
    culturedecoded

  4. I have tried to describe it twice today to people that did not see it. It is not possible! I do not have the words that would do it justice . . .

  5. @pacer421 – I don’t consider your comment spam at all. I’ve read your post, and consider your input quite valuable.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  6. @alrod312 – I agree. As a result of this post, I’ve had a couple ask me to tell them what they missed. I said it just simply isn’t possible to explain it in words.

    I really hope some sort of DVD comes out showcasing it!

    Hello, NBC????

  7. hey thanks

    pacer521
    http://culturedecoded.wordpress.com

  8. You hit it on the head, Marty. With everything. My husband, son and I watched most of it with our mouths open!! We were too tired to stay up to see the ending of it, so we began recording it while the teams were coming in and watched the rest of it the next day. It was so worth it. The lighting of the torch. Just everything.

  9. I agree! The Opening Ceremonies were unbelievable and something that is a MUST SEE event. I also sat with my mouth wide open not believing each thing that happened next.
    They wanted to impress and they did.
    Ditto on “not agreeing with China and their politics, yada yada….”
    But they definitely know how to “throw down!”
    (grin)
    p.s. I just happened upon your blog, but so far I’ve enjoyed the posts that I’ve read. Very informative.
    Take care.
    SOC

  10. @southernofficechairs – Thank you for your kind comments about my blog. Glad you’ve found some imformative posts here!

  11. After seeing the games I felt that China was successful in impressing the world that is going to be next super power of the world. May be the lighting of the torch marks the new beginning to the China’s supermacy in sports.


Leave a Reply

Categories

