Posted by: Marty Fahncke | March 13, 2008

Now hiring: P/T Administrative / Marketing Assistant

Now hiring sign

If you read this blog, you know I am an entrepreneur with multiple companies in the areas of consulting, Virtual Learning, E-Commerce, and Television.

With all that going on, I need an assistant.

I’m looking for a detail-oriented individual to help me grow these businesses. This is a part-time position (15-20 hours per week) working in my home office located in Northern Miami County, KS.

I offer a competitive salary, very flexible schedule and ability to work from your home some of the time.

In return, I need a person with integrity, commitment, and the ability to follow through with something until it is complete.

You will be helping me stay organized as I grow a couple of new companies. I’m a bit of a slob, so I need a neat-freak to keep me organized!

Obviously, the ability to multi-task effectively will be very important.

What kind of boss am I? Check out what one of my past employees had to say:

“Marty is an excellent supervisor who is easy to get along with. He also listens and is always open to ideas and suggestions that anyone may have. His knowledge and experience in the business constantly amazes and inspires me, and he is simply the best boss I have ever had.” – Lee Whitworth

You can check out my LinkedIn profile if you want to know more about me.

Interested so far?

Here are some of the duties you’ll be handling:

  • Communication with multiple clients via telephone and email
  • Use of internal project management software to track progress of tasks and deadlines
  • Communication and coordination with outside vendors to complete projects and tasks
  • Filing and organizing documents
  • Light bookkeeping and data entry
  • Marketing projects such as direct mailings, promotional activities, etc.
  • Compile status reports on a regular basis and present to clients via telephone

Do you possess, or have a burning desire to learn, most (if not all) of these skills?

  • Positive attitude
  • Excellent phone skills
  • Ability to multi-task
  • Absolute integrity
  • Strong customer service skills and attitude
  • Computer skills, including Excel, Word, Email, etc.
  • Internet or e-commerce experience
  • Direct marketing or advertising experience, either offline or online
  • Desire to grow
  • Willingness to learn
  • Flexible schedule
  • Strong written and verbal communication skills
  • Compensation is competitive, and commensurate with experience and ATTITUDE.

…Do I still have your attention?

To apply:
Please follow these instructions carefully. Applications not following these instructions will NOT be considered:

Send an email to marty ‘at’ fawnkey.com containing the following:

–> Subject line must say RESUME

–> Body of email must include:

  • Cover letter
  • Resume
  • Salary requirements

All information MUST be contained in the body of the email. Attachments will NOT be opened or accepted.

Responses

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  2. Been reading for a while now. Just wanted to say good job.

    Chris Tackett

  3. Hey everyone. If you qualify for this position and are thinking about applying – do it. I worked for Marty as a Marketing Assistant during my days at Fawnkey& Associates, and I can’t reiterate Lee’s words enough. You are likely to find Marty to be the best boss you’ve ever had. He knows his stuff, and while he expects projects to be completed on schedule is certainly not a micromanager. Plus, the way that he shares his insider knowledge of the industry will make you feel as though he is helping you out more than you are assisting him! If you are considering this go for it – you would be VERY LUCKY to work with Marty.

    Oh yeah – I receive no benefit for these words, although if you want to buy me a California roll lunch next time you’re out here Marty, by all means!!! haha

    -Jim

  4. Jim,

    Wow, thank you so much for your kind words. I’m truly humbled by them. I hope all is well for you and the family.

    Marty

  5. […] CLICK HERE to check out the full job posting […]

  6. Hey Marty,

    Here in the UK we use a service called City PA based in South Wales. They handle our phone calls, book our travel, organise our receipts (quasi-bookkeepers) and handle a number of other administrative functions as asked.

    My point (and I’m sure I have one), you probably have something similar there which would eliminate the need for hiring. We get much more service than we’d pay for.

    Another possible solution is an employment agency where you can give them your specs/needs and they send someone over who works their way on to your staff or not. I did that three years ago and they sent a fabulous lady who helped me for 10-months in the home office on a big project.

    Your Facebook friend,

    Denis Campbell

  7. @ Denis – Thank you so much for the suggestions. I’ll certainly explore each of the options you mentioned so see if they are an option.

    I appreciate your help.

    Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

