Posted by: Marty Fahncke | January 26, 2008

Where is America headed?

I’ve been meaning to post this commentary for quite a while, but haven’t managed to get around to it for much longer than I planned.

Having finally been prompted by fellow bloggers Chris and Jordan to help be a “voice of warning” about the direction this nation is going, I’m hereby doing my part.

Please consider the following quote:

“Let true Christians … pray continually for their country at this time of national difficulty. We bear the marks only too plainly of a declining empire. Who can say how intercession before the Governor of the universe may avert for a while our ruin. It may appear before the eyes of the world foolishness for real Christians so to pray, yet we believe from Scripture that God will be disposed to favor the nation to which His servants belong.

“Boldly I must confess that I believe the national difficulties we face result from the decline of religion and morality among us. I must confess equally boldly that my own solid hopes for the well-being of my country depend, not so much on her navies and armies, nor on the wisdom of her rulers, nor on the spirit of her people, as on the persuasion that she still contains many who love and obey the Gospel of Christ. I believe that their prayers may yet prevail.

These words are so timely to the situation in the United States today. The decline in religion and morality of this nation are in direct correlation to the beginning of decline of this nation as a world super-power.

The interesting thing is, this quote is not from a modern day preacher in the United States.

They are the words of William Wilberforce, written in 1797. (Book: Real Christianity)

The country he was speaking about? England.

At the time this was written, the British Empire was the most powerful, world dominating government on the planet. The Empire covered every part of the world, and was so vast it was said “The sun never sets on the British Empire”

Look at England today. Their holdings are isolated only to the British Isles, and the British Empire is a footnote in the history books.

So what about the warning of William Wilberforce?

Seems the country didn’t listen. The decline of the British Empire matches precisely the decline in the importance of religion and morality in that society.

Consider the state of religion in England today:

“Organized religion is in near-terminal decline in Britain…”
Matt Barnwell & Amy Iggulden, of the News.Telegraph.

“…the British are now a largely irreligious people. Only a minority believe that God exists and almost everyone acknowledges that Britain is becoming an increasingly secular society.”
Anthony King, The Telegraph.

Coincidence? I don’t think so.

America, it’s time to pray.

Responses

  1. Could not agree with you more! As I read your blog, I was reminded of a personal favorite quote (by an author whose name I admit I did not remember). The author: George Santayana. . .the quote “Those who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it.” Hopefully we in America will prove Mr. Santayana wrong.

  2. I hope your blog is huge enough to be read by millions. I agree totally. When comparing it with Sodom and Gomorrah, I often wonder why America is still around. They were destroyed by the Lord for the very things the United States is now “legally” endorsing. Legal or not, morally our country is declining quicker than we can imagine. I believe America as we have known it is fast and subtlety coming to its end.

  3. An immoral people cannot be governed, cannot prosper, and cannot be free. Thanks for the good post.

  4. You are so right on, Marty. Amen and Amen. It is time for America to fall on its knees.
    I had never heard of William Wilberforce until last month when we watched the dvd, Amazing Grace. I loved it so much I blogged about it. We need more people in the world like him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

