Posted by: Marty Fahncke | January 18, 2008

What are people saying about you?

I was pleasantly surprised this morning to be alerted about a press release for an upcoming conference which contained my name among a list of speakers “representing some of the keenest minds in social media, search engine marketing, online video, usability and mobile commerce

Me? A keen mind? I don’t know about that, but it was a GREAT way to start my day!

How did I know this press release had been issued?

Because I use a wonderful (and free) tool called Google Alerts.

Essentially, Google monitors (practically) the entire internet, and any time information is added which matches your alert, you will be notified. It monitors blogs, news, websites, and video sites.

I use it Google Alerts for:

  • Keeping track of my own “personal brand”
  • Up to date market research on topics of interest for my business
  • Monitoring what people are saying about my clients
  • Keeping track of the competition
  • And much more!

What can you use it for?

Click HERE to try it out!

Leave a Reply

Categories

