Posted by: Marty Fahncke | January 7, 2008

Who is writing your life story?

I just began the book The Power of Story: Rewrite Your Destiny in Business and in Life by Jim Loehr, and came across a very powerful statement.

It’s so profound, I just had to share it with you:

We enjoy the privilege of being the final author of the story we write with our life, yet we possess a marvelous capacity to give ourselves only a supporting role in the “writing” process, while ascribing the premier, dominant, true authorial role to our parents, our spouse, our kids, our boss, fate, chance, genetics, bad weather, or lousy interest rates. Anyone or anything but us appears to have more influence in moving the metaphorical pen across the paper.

With this quote in mind, I finally made a decision this week that I have been mulling over for months and months. When I looked at the decision based on how I want my “story” to come out, it was easy, and it was right.

I’ll provide a full review of the book when I’m done, which may be a while because this isn’t the kind of book you just breeze through.

Responses

  1. Looking forward to your review and following your process, Marty. As a journaling-fanatic who documents life in scattered spiral notebooks, I find tracking what’s going on in life is one way to figuratively – and literally – hold the pen. Blogging is another way to question, answer and process the path.


Leave a Reply

Categories

