Posted by: Marty Fahncke | January 19, 2007

Vegas and the Car-Talk guys

I’m headed out this weekend to Las Vegas for an internet marketing conference called Affiliate Summit, where I’m moderating a panel/debate.  Should be interesting.  I really like the conference…this is my third time attending, and the networking, information, and contacts just get more valuable every time.   

Vegas is another story.  I really hate Vegas.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy gambling, and have been known to spend a lot of time at the roulette table, play a little video poker, etc.    It’s just that Vegas is so smoke-filled, degenerate, and fake, I would really rather be somewhere else.  My friend Chris posted a blog about moving the conference to another city, which I think would be a great idea for positioning the conference (and the affiliate industry) in a better/more legitimate light.  However, knowing the attendees of this conference like I do, I doubt it will happen any time soon.  Probably half of the people there are there just BECAUSE it’s in Vegas, and the conference itself is secondary.   We’ll see how the event does in Miami later this year for comparison.   On another note, I did two very successful Teleseminars this week.  One of them was with a co-host friend of mine named Jay Aaron.  One of the attendees actually compared us to Click and Clack, which was a HUGE honor for me, as I love that show! 

Responses

  1. […] PS – I still hate Vegas […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

