Posted by: Marty Fahncke | January 17, 2007

The invention parade

Last night, Carrie Jeske from Inventive Ideas invited me to attend a meeting of the Inventors Club of Kansas City.  Next month, I will be the featured speaker at this event, so I thought it would be a good way to check out the lay of the land before I took the platform.  Therefore, I agreed to attend. 

The guest speaker last night was the Vice President of Specialty Products for Faultless/Bon Ami, which owns and markets the starch and cleaning products we’ve all heard of, but they ALSO market the Garden Weasel, a quasi-DRTV product.

As part of the presentation, inventors were invited to bring products in for this guy to review, and let them know if Faultless would be interested in doing business with them.

(Let me stop here and tell you that at one time, I was heading up the product sourcing division of the largest DRTV/Infomercial company in the world.  We would receive HUNDREDS of new products to review every month.  It was a daunting task.  I can tell you that for every 150 products I saw, only ONE one would be a potential winner. )

Ok, back to last night…there were about a dozen products presented…and at least six of them were great products.  One of them was even a perfect DRTV product!  I couldn’t believe the ratio of high-quality products to junk in the mix.  I truly don’t believe I’ve ever seen it that high in any group of prototype products.

I don’t know what they put in the water here in Kansas City, but it sure seems to agree with the inventor community!

Responses

  1. […] couple of months ago, I did a presentation at the Inventors Club of Kansas City on this exact topic, and the audience loved […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

